VMware VMware Jobs

16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ping26

ping26

• Leecher
  • 9 posts
  • 251 thanks

Posted 28 September 2012 - 02:56 PM

Well this is not a shout to every one for a Party but wondered if any of you can share experiences on how did they land a job as a VMware Admins or Consultant and what does it takes to get into the field.
I have been working in IT since 2006 and mainly in the Desktop Support side and always wanted to get and move a step up.

I've done my MCSA and paid for my VCP byt still find it hard to get a job as a VMware Admin. I do have a good LAB and invested heavily on it and most of the companies and head hunters are asking about the experience.

I would love to have any thaughts about this as maybe network with few for any tips.
Thanks

#2 OFFLINE   vCloud

vCloud

VMWARE MODERATOR

• Moderators
  • 13 posts
  • 321 thanks

Posted 01 October 2012 - 04:28 AM

Hi ping26....

As i can see that ur most of the experience is in the Desktop Support this is the bottleneck which is not letting u to get a job as VMware Admin.Try to grab some experience on server side...Can u tell us the location.....

#3 OFFLINE   ping26

ping26

• Leecher
  • 9 posts
  • 251 thanks

Posted 01 October 2012 - 08:22 AM

Hi ping26....

As i can see that ur most of the experience is in the Desktop Support this is the bottleneck which is not letting u to get a job as VMware Admin.Try to grab some experience on server side...Can u tell us the location.....

Well im really confident with regards to the VMware products and also few MS Applications (DNS,AD and others).
currently doing an EMC storage course.
I'm located in UK London to be exactly.

#4 OFFLINE   vCloud

vCloud

VMWARE MODERATOR

• Moderators
  • 13 posts
  • 321 thanks

Posted 01 October 2012 - 10:17 AM

As ur in UK this might also be a pain area...Most of the jobs in ur area are outsourced to other countries.
Tell me one more thing are u getting calls for interview....

#5 OFFLINE   ping26